The film and television winners for the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards were handed out live Saturday night. Continuing a long-standing tradition, the 38th annual ceremony, which honors and celebrates independent filmmakers, took place at the Santa Monica Pier in Santa Monica, California.

This year’s most-nominated films were Everything Everywhere All at Once, which garnered eight total nods and competed in the Best Feature category against T?r, which had seven nods. Other top movies included Aftersun, Emily the Criminal and Palm Trees and Power Lines.

Abbott Elementary, The Bear, Severance and Station Eleven, meanwhile, led the TV nominations with three each, while the latter three faced off in the Best New Scripted Series category. Other notable series included The Porter and Somebody Somewhere.

See the full list of winners in bold below:


Best Feature

Bones and All Everything Everywhere All at Once Our Father, the Devil T?r Women Talking

Best First Feature

Aftersun Emily the CriminalThe InspectionMurinaPalm Trees and Power Lines

Best Director

Todd Field, T?rKogonada, After YangDaniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at OnceSarah Polley, Women TalkingHalina Reijn, Bodies Bodies Bodies

Best Screenplay

Lena Dunham, Catherine Called BirdyTodd Field, T?rKogonada, After YangDaniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at OnceSarah Polley, Women Talking

Best First Screenplay

Joel Kim Booster, Fire Island Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay, Story by Jamie Dack, Palm Trees and Power LinesK.D. D?vila, EmergencySarah DeLappe, Story by Kristen Roupenian, Bodies Bodies BodiesJohn Patton Ford, Emily the Criminal

Best Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett, T?rDale Dickey, A Love SongMia Goth, PearlRegina Hall, Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.Paul Mescal, AftersunAubrey Plaza, Emily the CriminalJeremy Pope, The InspectionAndrea Riseborough, To LeslieTaylor Russell, Bones and AllMichelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis, Everything Everywhere All at OnceBrian Tyree Henry, CausewayNina Hoss, T?rBrian d’Arcy James, The CathedralKe Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at OnceTrevante Rhodes, BruiserTheo Rossi, Emily the CriminalMark Rylance, Bones and AllJonathan Tucker, Palm Trees and Power LinesGabrielle Union, The Inspection

Best Breakthrough Performance

Frankie Corio, AftersunGracija Filipovi?, MurinaStephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All at Once Lily McInerny, Palm Trees and Power LinesDaniel Zolghadri, Funny Pages

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister, T?r H?l?ne Louvart, MurinaGregory Oke, AftersunEliot Rockett, PearlAnisia Uzeyman, Neptune Frost

Best Editing

Ricky D’Ambrose, The Cathedral Dean Fleischer Camp and Nick Paley, Marcel the Shell with Shoes On Blair McClendon, AftersunPaul Rogers, Everything Everywhere All at OnceMonika Willi, T?r

Best International Film

Corsage (Austria/Luxembourg/France/Belgium/Italy/England)Joyland (Pakistan/USA)Leonor Will Never Die (Philippines)Return to Seoul (South Korea/France/Belgium/Romania)Saint Omer (France)

Best Documentary

All That BreathesAll the Beauty and the BloodshedA House Made of SplintersMidwivesRiotsville, U.S.A.

John Cassavetes Award

The African DesperateA Love SongThe CathedralHoly EmySomething in the Dirt

Robert Altman Award

Women TalkingDirector: Sarah PolleyCasting Directors: John Buchan, Jason KnightEnsemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Awards

Liz Cardenas Tory LenoskyDavid Grove Churchill Viste

Someone to Watch Award

Adamma Ebo, Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.Nikyatu Jusu, NannyAraceli Lemos, Holy Emy

Truer Than Fiction Award

Isabel Castro, MijaReid Davenport, I Didn’t See You There Rebeca Huntt, Beba


Best New Scripted Series

The Bear Pachinko The Porter Severance Station Eleven

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

Children of the Underground Mind Over Murder Pepsi, Where’s My Jet? The Rehearsal We Need to Talk About Cosby

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Aml Ameen , The Porter Mohammed Amer, Mo Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary Bridget Everett, Somebody Somewhere KaMillion, Rap Sh!t Melanie Lynskey, Yellowjackets Himesh Patel, Station Eleven Sue Ann Pien, As We See It Adam Scott, Severance Ben Whishaw, This is Going to Hurt

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Danielle Deadwyler, Station Eleven Ayo Edibiri, The Bear Jeff Hiller, Somebody Somewhere Gbemisola Ikumelo, A League of Their Own Janelle James, Abbott Elementary Ebon Moss-Bachrach, The Bear Frankie Qui?ones, This Fool Sheryl Lee Ralph, Abbott Elementary Molly Shannon, I Love That For You Tramell Tillman, Severance

Best Ensemble Cast in a Scripted Series

Pachinko Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

For more Film Independent Spirit Awards coverage, stay tuned to


2022 Independent Spirit Awards: The Complete Winners List

2021 Independent Spirit Awards: The Complete Winners List

2020 Independent Spirit Awards: The Complete Winners List

2019 Independent Spirit Awards: The Complete Winners List



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: