Representative Jim Jordan of Ohio lost a bid to become speaker on Tuesday after 20 Republicans refused to back him, prolonging a two-week fight that has paralyzed the chamber and underscored the deep Republican divisions in the House.

The group included vulnerable Republicans from districts that President Biden won in 2020 and congressional institutionalists worried that Mr. Jordan, if elected, would demand extreme spending cuts, including to the military, potentially forcing a government shutdown.

Still others were deeply loyal to former Speaker Kevin McCarthy, who was ousted by a band of right-wing rebels mostly allied with Mr. Jordan, or simply stung by the poor treatment of Representative Steve Scalise of Louisiana. Republicans had nominated Mr. Scalise as Mr. McCarthy’s successor, but he dropped out after he could not consolidate enough support to win the post on the floor.

Here’s a look at the lawmakers who opposed Mr. Jordan on the first vote.

Biden-district Republicans

There are 18 Republicans in the House who represent districts Mr. Biden won in the last presidential election. Six of them voted for candidates other than Mr. Jordan:

Don Bacon of Nebraska

Lori Chavez DeRemer of Oregon

Anthony D’Esposito of New York

Jen Kiggans of Virginia

Nick LaLota of New York

Mike Lawler of New York


A group of seven Republicans who serve on the Appropriations Committee, which controls federal spending, expressed concern about Mr. Jordan’s anti-spending past. Some of them feared that he would demand across-the-board funding cuts, including to the military.

Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida

Jake Ellzey of Texas

Tony Gonzales of Texas

Kay Granger of Texas, the chairwoman of the appropriations panel.

John Rutherford of Florida

Mike Simpson of Idaho

Steve Womack of Arkansas

Mr. Womack said he voted against Mr. Jordan on principle because Mr. Scalise was “kneecapped before he could win over his opponents.”

McCarthy Loyalists

Doug LaMalfa of California

The northern Californian said he would vote for Mr. Jordan on the second ballot.

John James of Michigan

Andrew Garbarino of New York

Carlos Gimenez of Florida

Mike Kelly of Pennsylvania

Wild Cards

Victoria Spartz of Indiana

Ken Buck of Colorado — Mr. Buck said there were a number of reasons he did not back Mr. Jordan, but his main sticking point was the fact that Mr. Jordan played a lead role in the attempt to overturn President Biden’s victory in the 2020 election on the floor of the House. “I don’t want someone who was involved in the activities of January 6,” he told CNN after the vote.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: