Hosted by Michael Barbaro

Produced by Michael Simon Johnson and Rachelle Bonja

Edited by Rachel Quester and Lexie Diao

Original music by Dan Powell and Marion Lozano

Engineered by Chris Wood

Listen and follow The DailyApple Podcasts | Spotify | Amazon Music

Warning: this episode contains strong language.

After 21 days without a leader, and after cycling through four nominees, House Republicans have finally elected a speaker. They chose Representative Mike Johnson of Louisiana, a hard-right conservative best known for leading congressional efforts to overturn the 2020 election.

Luke Broadwater, a congressional reporter for The Times, was at the capitol when it happened.

On today’s episode

Luke Broadwater, a congressional correspondent for The New York Times.


Representative Mike Johnson of Louisiana won the election on Wednesday to become the 56th speaker of the House of Representatives.Credit…Kenny Holston/The New York Times

Background reading

The House elected Mike Johnson as speaker, embracing a hard-right conservative.

Speaker Johnson previously played a leading role in the effort to overturn the 2020 election results.

There are a lot of ways to listen to The Daily. Here’s how.

We aim to make transcripts available the next workday after an episode’s publication. You can find them at the top of the page.

Luke Broadwater contributed reporting.

The Daily is made by Rachel Quester, Lynsea Garrison, Clare Toeniskoetter, Paige Cowett, Michael Simon Johnson, Brad Fisher, Chris Wood, Jessica Cheung, Stella Tan, Alexandra Leigh Young, Lisa Chow, Eric Krupke, Marc Georges, Luke Vander Ploeg, M.J. Davis Lin, Dan Powell, Sydney Harper, Mike Benoist, Liz O. Baylen, Asthaa Chaturvedi, Rachelle Bonja, Diana Nguyen, Marion Lozano, Corey Schreppel, Rob Szypko, Elisheba Ittoop, Mooj Zadie, Patricia Willens, Rowan Niemisto, Jody Becker, Rikki Novetsky, John Ketchum, Nina Feldman, Will Reid, Carlos Prieto, Ben Calhoun, Susan Lee, Lexie Diao, Mary Wilson, Alex Stern, Dan Farrell, Sophia Lanman, Shannon Lin, Diane Wong, Devon Taylor, Alyssa Moxley, Summer Thomad, Olivia Natt, Daniel Ramirez and Brendan Klinkenberg.

Our theme music is by Jim Brunberg and Ben Landsverk of Wonderly. Special thanks to Sam Dolnick, Paula Szuchman, Lisa Tobin, Larissa Anderson, Julia Simon, Sofia Milan, Mahima Chablani, Elizabeth Davis-Moorer, Jeffrey Miranda, Renan Borelli, Maddy Masiello, Isabella Anderson and Nina Lassam.




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: